top of page

Samuel Goldwyn, Jr.: 1926 - 2015

Samuel Goldwyn, Jr. - the man who produced and financed our first film, Once Bitten - passed away today at the age of 88.

Shit.

You've heard me bitch about various aspects of my experience on Once Bitten, and no doubt will again.

But you've never heard me bitch about Samuel Goldwyn, Jr. While I certainly didn't always agree with him (as a snot-nosed 22-year old), I recognized that Mr. Goldwyn always treated us kindly and fairly. Frankly, Jeff and I still get royalty checks to this day because he saw to it.

He was a good and decent man to a couple of greenhorn screenwriters who I guarantee were more trouble than we were worth. He took a big gamble on us, didn't fire us when he had every right to after we turned in a terrible second draft, and gave us the experience of having written a movie that debuted at #1 at the box office. He gave us our start, our first credit, and an amazing experience. I'll always love him for that.

Safe journey, sir. And I'm really, really sorry I yelled at you at the Friar's Club that time.

But more than anything, thank you, thank you, thank you.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page